Keynote: Cameron Sinclair

Cameron Sinclair
Co-founder and ‘Chief Eternal Optimist’ (CEO)
Architecture for Humanity

Cameron Sinclair was trained as an architect at the University of Westminster and at the Bartlett School of Architecture, University College London. During his studies Sinclair developed an interest in social, cultural and humanitarian design. His postgraduate thesis focused on providing shelter to New York’s homeless through sustainable, transitional housing. After his studies, he moved to New York where he worked as a designer and project architect.

Sinclair and Architecture for Humanity co-founder Kate Stohr compiled a bestselling book Design Like You Give A Damn: Architectural Responses to Humanitarian Crises and are currently working on a second volume. He is heavily involved in bringing socially relevant building into academia and serves on advisory boards of the Acumen Fund, the Institute for State Effectiveness and the Ontario College of Art and Design.

Sinclair is a TED prize recipient and is a Young Global Leader of the World Economic Forum. In 2008 Architecture for Humanity and its co-founders Sinclair and Stohr were named as recipients of the Design Patron Award for the National Design Awards. The following year Sinclair and Stohr were jointly awarded the Bicentenary Medal by the Royal Society of Arts for increasing people’s resourcefulness.

As a result of the 2006 TED Prize, Architecture for Humanity launched the Open Architecture Network, the world’s first open source community dedicated to improving living conditions through innovative and sustainable design. Every two years this network hosts a global challenge to tackle a systemic issue within the built environment.

Recent Posts

2012 Post-Conference Wrap

Click here for presentations from Speakers in Tracks A, B, & C:

Keynote Speakers: 

Cameron Sinclair,
CEO & Co-Founder,
Architecture for Humanity
Jessian Choy,
City of San Francisco
Dana Bourland,
Vice President
Enterprise Community Partners, Inc.
David Levine,
Co-founder & Executive Director
The American Sustainable Business Council